Who spoke to the PUC on the NextEra buy out?

Tuesday night 300 people showed up to the PUC hearing, with 100 speaking.  Among the silent observers were many HECO and NextEra employees.  To my surprise, many spoke in support.  They seemed to be of two camps.  One was those who want to curry favor with HECO/NextEra management so that their current contracts or charitable donations will continue no matter who is in charge.  The second was regular ratepayers who are disgusted with HECO prices and/or service and hope NextEra will do better.

I have to say that some of the first group was pretending to be in the second group.  When I asked the man behind me in line why he was there, he said he has a non-profit hospice that receives annual donations from HECO.  However, when he spoke he just said he was a ratepayer and small business owner who believed NextEra could lower his bills.  Hmmm.

The opponents were largely people who care about the environment or Hawaiian independence and cited NextEras deplorable track record on the mainland.  One woman from Hawaii said she experienced NextEra first hand when she lived in Florida for 20 years.  I wasn’t sure if her preamble was leading to support or opposition, but she was vehemently opposed, calling NextEra an evil company managed by evil people.  I guess she would know…

About Dr. Lisa Marten

I love my children, I love the ocean and the mountains, and I don't feel reducing my carbon footprint is enough anymore. I fear the things I love are at risk and I am doing all I can to learn more about how to stop that and to bring others along for the ride with me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

