What more could I want for my BIRTHDAY than fresh roses and fresh surf? Go to my blog and write testimony!

IMG_0328IMG_0323

Lanikai reef is going off and Jim sent roses.  But it would make my birthday even better if we were to DO something about Climate Change.

This legislative session there are two Bills that failed last year and need your support to get us on track for renewable energy.  Please write saying you support them.  Please pass this to your personal network as well.

1) Community Solar.  House Bill 484.  Residents and businesses who are not able to generate and use renewable energy because of their building type, location or access to the utility grid should be able to participate in and enjoy the economic, environmental and societal benefits of renewable energy.   These Bills allow them to invest in panels at another location, and receive credit from the utility for the energy generated.

2) Update our Renewable Portfolio Standards (RPS) to 70% by 2035 and 100% by 2040. House Bill 623, Senate Bill 715.  This means 70% and then 100% of our power (not transportation) will come from clean, local, renewable energy.  New technologies that are cheaper than imported oil have already put us on the path to exceed the RPS set in 2009 (40% renewable power by 2030).  The Hawaii State Energy Office and HECO have proposed increasing the RPS by 2030 to 70% and 65% respectively.  We should codify this into law, and make clear that we will eventually move off fossil fuels for power generation completely by having the 100% renewable goal.  Failing this, our power company may bank on providing the remaining 30% with imported LNG forever and invest heavily in infrastructure that we will pay for.

WRITE JUST ONCE AND REACH ALL THE COMMITTEES ON THE LONG ROAD TO THE GOVERNORS DESK.  Blue Planet Foundation will recycle your testimony for all the different committees.  Just send your testimony on each of these two issues to jeff@blueplanetfoundation.org and paste in:  “I give Blue Planet Foundation permission to submit this testimony to legislators and legislative committees as needed throughout the 2015 session on my behalf. I understand that they will edit the committee information, date, and salutation to reflect the committee, but will otherwise not change the substance of the testimony.”

About Dr. Lisa Marten

I love my children, I love the ocean and the mountains, and I don't feel reducing my carbon footprint is enough anymore. I fear the things I love are at risk and I am doing all I can to learn more about how to stop that and to bring others along for the ride with me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

